UAE suspends arrivals from 3 more countries

iStock [For illustration]

The UAE has announced the suspension of flights coming from three African countries.

Entry from Zambia, Uganda and the Democratic Republic of the Congo will be suspended for all incoming national and foreign carriers.

The restrictions will come into effect from 11:59 pm on Friday, June 11.

The latest decision has been announced by the National Emergency Crisis and Disaster Management Authority (NCEMA) in coordination with the General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA).

Exemptions will be there for certain categories of passengers:

  • UAE citizens and their first-degree relatives, those on diplomatic missions accredited by the UAE and the three countries (including administrators working in embassies)
  • Official delegations and businessmen provided that they receive prior approval, and golden and silver residence visa holders
  • The holders of essential jobs according to the classification of the Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship (ICA), crews of foreign shipment and transit aircraft
  • The exempted groups must comply with additional preventive measures that include a 10-day quarantine and PCR testing at the airport and also on day 4 and day 8 after entering the country
  • The required PCR testing period prior to travel has been reduced from 72 to 48 hours, and all tests must be administered by accredited laboratories that issue results carrying a QR code

Travellers coming from the three countries through other countries are required to provide proof of a period of stay in those places of no less than 14 days in order to be allowed to enter the UAE.

Cargo flights will continue to operate and so will outbound flights.


More from UAE

Coming Up On Dubai 92